Sunshine Coast Falcons Inaugural Life Members Inducted

On Sunday the 12th of September we acknowledged 5 special people who have given extraordinary service and commitment to the Falcons Football Club and previous to that when we were known as the Sea Eagles Football Club.

These 5 people were each awarded with Inaugural Life Memberships of the Falcons Football Club yesterday and will always be welcomed and honoured within the Falcons Rugby League organisation.

Don Oxenham

Don carried out most of the ground work to ensure the successful formation of the Falcons Football club back in 2005 – Teams commenced playing in the Brisbane A Grade competition in 2006 with the Club being accepted into the QLD Cup as the Sea Eagles in 2009.

Don was the Inaugural CEO and a Board Member of the Club and was instrumental in giving our local players a pathway to a higher standard and level of competition.

David Cordwell

Dave served as both a coach and a board member at the Falcons from 2008 – 2013. Dave brought the Falcons through a very tough period when the Club was without an NRL feeder team having just lost their affiliation with the Sea Eagles in 2011.

Colts Coach 2009 – 2010
Fogs Cup Coach – 2011
QLD Cup Coach 2012 – 2013

Dave served as a Falcons Board Member from 2008 – 2011 and Dave’s company Cordwells Concrete was also a valued sponsor of the club during that time.

Alan Marr

Alan Joined the Board at the start of 2009 – the same year that the Sea Eagles hosted and won their First Grand Final here where Sunshine Coast Stadium now stands. Alan was a passionate, hard working member of the Falcons Board and gave 10 years of amazing service to the Falcons finishing up at the end of 2019.

As well as serving on the Board – Alan and his family provided much needed financial support to the Sea Eagles Football Club when it was needed most.

Gordon Oakes

Gordon joined the Falcons board in 2012 and is still a serving member of the Falcons board today (2021) in his 9th year. Gordon is a very hard worker and consistently puts his hand up to assist in the day to day running of the Falcons Football Club and it’s social activities. Gordon is a very well respected member of the Falcons Board and will look to bring up his 10th year of service in 2022.

Peter Boyce

Peter Boyce was the Chairman of the Sea Eagles / Falcons Football Club from 2006 to 2013.

Peter was the Chairman of the Sea Eagles at the time that they won their first QLD Cup premiership on home soil in 2009.
Peter also oversaw the club through some tough times at the end of the NRL affiliation with the Manly Sea Eagles from 2011 and without his guidance over the years many say that the Falcons Football Club would not still be here today.

The Peter Boyce trophy is awarded each year at their Awards Night to any member of the Falcons Football Club that displays outstanding club spirit throughout the year.

Left to Right: David Cordwell, Alan Marr, Gordon Oakes, Don Oxenham